57th Annual Ceremonial Review

WATCH the 57th Annual Ceremonial Review and Change of Command Ceremony here.


On May 31, 2020, at 1:30 p.m. EDT, we celebrated our 57th Annual Ceremonial Review (ACR) and Change of Command Ceremony virtually through a Facebook Live event and 18 e-static displays due to social distancing measures. Our Reviewing Officer for the event was Lieutenant-General Jean-Marc Lanthier, Vice Chief of the Defence Staff.

We were welcomed by a performance by the 75/742 Squadrons Band Programs, before beginning the ACR.  

We looked back at some highlights from the 2019-2020 training year. This was followed by the presentation of awards for physical fitness, marksmanship, ground school, the Band Programs, and drill team.

We then recognized the cadets with an exceptional level of participation and contribution to the training program, teams, and squadron activities by conferring more awards! (FULL AWARD RECIPIENT LIST BELOW)

Next, we moved onto speeches. We had the honour and privilege to have LGen J.M. Lanthier accompanied by CWO M. Colbert address the cadets. As well as, Ms V. Morisset, the Quebec and Ottawa Valley Provincial Secretary for the Air Cadet League of Canada, make her address to the cadets. This was followed by speeches from Mrs A. Calvano, Sponsoring Committee Chairperson, and Maj S. Element, Commanding Officer.

We then reached the point for the Change of Command Ceremony. Although a change of command can be a simple office signing ceremony or a review may be held to mark the occasion. In our case, the Outgoing CO (Maj S. Element) presented the Squadron Banner to the Incoming CO (Maj L. Brennan) to accept command of 742 Squadron while maintaining social distancing measures.

Once Maj L. Brennan accepted the Squadron Banner, he made his address to the squadron, ending his speech with "742, Best in Blue!"

We concluded the 57th ACR again with a performance from the Band Programs playing the RCAF March Past during last year's ACR and had scrolling credits to recognize and thank the staff and senior cadets from the 2019-2020 training year.

Congratulations to all 250 cadets from this training year! We are all very proud of you! Keep up with us on our website and social media platforms. We wish you all a wonderful summer!


Athletic Achievement Award: FSgt John Moore Ede

Top Marksman Award: WO1 Jackson Corbeil

Arlo Speer Award Scholarship Ground School of Excellence: WO2 Brady Thompson & FSgt Osama Marei

George Mayer Award for General Ground School: FCpl Riley Kamotzki

Best 742 Junior Band P&D: LAC Jasleen Girn

Best 742 Junior Band B&R: Cpl Amina Syed & LAC Omar Sambo

Best 742 Senior Band P&D: FSgt Paul Fohr

Best 742 Senior Band B&R: Sgt Razi Syed & Sgt Brian Liu

Best 742 Highland Dancer: LAC Morgan Harrison-Stone

Top Drill Team Member: WO2 Christopher Trinh

Special Service Trophy: WO2 Samvel Navasardyan

CO's Trophy (Top Instructor): WO2 Raissa Amany

Top Level 1 Cadet: LAC Piper Donner

Top Level 2 Cadet: FCpl Owen Bueckert

Top Level 3 Cadet: Sgt Antoine Hickey

Top Level 4 Cadet: FSgt Benjamin Falsetto

Top Level 5 Cadet: WO2 Shaun Seneviratne

Top Junior Non-Commissioned Member: Sgt Marina Jeannot

Top Senior Non-Commissioned Member: WO2 Christopher Trinh

Montgomery Trophy (Most Proficient Cadet): WO1 Jackson Corbeil

Royal Canadian Legion Cadet Medal of Excellence: WO2 Brady Thompson

Lord Strathcona Medal of Honour: WO1 Jackson Corbeil

Air Cadet Service:

  • Air Cadet Service Medal (4 years): FSgt Rita El-Dik, FSgt Edward Gadea, FSgt Isabella Gauthier, WO2 Joshua Balisch, WO2 Rendel Dimaano, WO2 Anish Gupta
  • Air Cadet Service (5-year bar and rosette): WO2 Faiz Jan, WO2 Logan Norquay, WO2 Raymond Wang
  • Air Cadet Service (6-year bar and rosette): WO2 Tarek Said


Updated: Jul 10th, 2020 at 8:10 PM (EST)